94
submitted 1 month ago by solidgrue to c/nostupidquestions

Could Jesus make a Celiac so allergic he couldn't receive Him?

all 36 comments
sorted by: hot top controversial new old
[-] [email protected] 26 points 1 month ago

In the Catholic Church you always have the option to receive communion in the form of wine so there is a fully gluten free option.

[-] [email protected] 7 points 1 month ago
[-] [email protected] 26 points 1 month ago

Then you can't be Catholic.

[-] [email protected] 10 points 1 month ago

Then you drink mustum instead. (I don't know the English name, only the Latin one.)

Mustum is basically a young wine; it's allowed to start fermentation, but then the fermentation is quickly stopped, before it develops any meaningful amount of alcohol.

[-] formergijoe 2 points 1 month ago

Use the Michael Jackson defense and go "it's okay it's just Jesus Juice"

[-] [email protected] 2 points 1 month ago

You can just skip it

[-] MeatsOfRage 2 points 1 month ago

Speaking as someone who grew up in an Irish Catholic house it still blows my mind a huge building full of people went up and drank out of the same cup.

Did this all change after covid?

[-] qooqie 6 points 1 month ago

For awhile it was single serving things in weird little pre packages. Now it’s back to the cup which is fucking gross imo

[-] TheRealKuni 6 points 1 month ago

Often churches which have the “common cup” use silver or gold chalices, which naturally have anti-microbial properties. They will also often turn the chalice after each user, and then wipe it with a cloth (sometimes soaked in strong alcohol) to cleanse it further.

For those who find this gross, many churches also offer individual cups.

There is a lot of variation here, some churches only do individual cups, some only do common cup.

[-] Mbourgon -3 points 1 month ago

Not all wine is gluten free

[-] [email protected] 8 points 1 month ago

Some wines are fined with micro wheat, and sealing barrels with wheat paste is traditional. Not sure how much it adds up to, though. Other than that, wine is always gluten free, unless you’re counting barley wine.

[-] [email protected] 6 points 1 month ago

Gluten is only foind in wheat and a few other grains. Wine by it's very definition has zero grain in it.

[-] [email protected] 5 points 1 month ago

Can you name one that isn't?

[-] [email protected] 20 points 1 month ago

You can buy rice crackers at the supermarket now. No need to go to church anymore.

[-] [email protected] 4 points 1 month ago

so now you tell me

[-] [email protected] 16 points 1 month ago

Celiac technically isn’t an allergy, but yes. Some denominations will give you a gluten free communion wafer. Catholicism, however, requires one that contains wheat although it’s possible to get a very low gluten option that probably won’t trigger a reaction.

[-] [email protected] 13 points 1 month ago

Seems like a big risk if they fuck it up.

[-] tehlaughing1 7 points 1 month ago

Priest here!

The "wheat" is more of a formality in the concentrations used in the gluten-free hosts.

.

The LONG sermon:

Ever hear of homeopathy? The "homeopathic essence" of whatever substance used?

For SAFE things like violet essence or dandelion essence, so called "flower essences":the flowers are place in water in the sun and happy thoughts are thought over them. (Just about like a prayer, don't you think?)

For UNSAFE substances: like black widow venom, datura flowers, and uranium: water is brought CLOSE to these things (in the case of freaking uranium. Like on a tour through a nuclear plant and holding a glass of water up to the thick glass that separates tourists from a nuclear reactor) or HEAVILY diluted.

I'm talking a drop of venom in a gallon of water, which then a drop of that gallon is placed in a fresh gallon of water, etc. etc. UP TO 100 TIMES.

And very DIFFERENT happy thoughts are beamed at that tenth of fiftieth or HUNDREDTH gallon of water (a bit like an Exorcism, if I do say so myself) and THEN that water is administered to someone.

Like a Sacrament.

.

So, Rest Assured!

A Priest has Spoken!!

And the "gluten free hosts" TECHNICALLY contain wheat,

But not in any kind of concentration that is going to get any tummies rumbling.

The Church (I mean the actual, loving one that doesn't want to kill or molest people) doesn't want to hurt anyone.

And I as a Priest of that church, love you very much.

Take care of yourself, Habibi!

Xoxo -Long Winded Priest.

[-] [email protected] 1 points 1 month ago

Lovely explanation, thanks!

[-] [email protected] 3 points 1 month ago

Yeah, hopefully it would be clearly labeled. I went to a Presbyterian church one time and at their communion, everyone else got wonderful looking artisan brown bread. They gave me this weird half-and-half cup with brown looking wine and this tiny 1 cm chip of theoretically gluten free cracker sealed on top. It was kinda interesting so I just kept it.

[-] [email protected] 10 points 1 month ago* (last edited 1 month ago)

The actual sacrament you get is usually made with wheat so it probably has some gluten in it. Though I am sure there are gluten free options.

The guy himself? Might depend on how much bread he ate but I don't know enough about the nutritional facts of a human body to answer with certainty.

[-] [email protected] 9 points 1 month ago

Which part of His body did you get? The spleen? A bit of intestine? One of the toes?

[-] Orbituary 8 points 1 month ago

You drink his blood and eat his body... Vampirism and cannibalism. Way to go catholics.

(thanks Eddie)

[-] Bashnagdul 2 points 1 month ago

It's only cannibalism if you are also a god. Otherwise its deitism?

[-] meco03211 2 points 1 month ago

There's an Abbot and Costello skit in there somewhere. "You're on a new diet?" "No I said deit."

[-] TheRealKuni 2 points 1 month ago

It's only cannibalism if you are also a god. Otherwise its deitism?

Ah, but the Athanasian creed clearly teaches the doctrine of hypostatic union, that Jesus is fully god but also fully man.

Since he is fully man, eating his body would indeed be cannibalism. Don’t take away the most metal part of Christianity.

[-] Bashnagdul 2 points 1 month ago

I think eating your god is more metal than just eating a human.

[-] [email protected] 8 points 1 month ago* (last edited 1 month ago)

Then Jesus declared, "I am the bread of life. He who comes to me will never go hungry, and he who believes in me will never be thirsty."

That doesn't sound like a gluten-free loaf.

[-] [email protected] 4 points 1 month ago

Its pure protein bro! /s

[-] [email protected] 4 points 1 month ago* (last edited 1 month ago)

https://www.usccb.org/prayer-and-worship/the-mass/order-of-mass/liturgy-of-the-eucharist/celiac-disease-and-alcohol-intolerance

ETA: You could probably discuss it with a parish priest. Perhaps you could receive blessing, like Protestant attendees?

[-] grasshopper_mouse 3 points 3 weeks ago

My mom us a retired Episcopalian priest. She said there are gluten-free wafers you can get if someone in the congregation needs them. She also said that it doesn't have to be a wafer, one of her priest buddies once consecrated a pancake to make a point that it doesn't matter what's being consecrated, it's all God's creation.

Note: I am not religious and do not hold these beliefs myself

[-] solidgrue 2 points 3 weeks ago

Mom's priest buddy is my spirit animal. That's awesome.

[-] Mbourgon 1 points 1 month ago

https://www.winespectator.com/articles/is-wine-gluten-free Cool! Glad to be wrong. I thought there was something about gluten in wine, but i think i was conflating it and vegan wine. Thanks for the catch!

this post was submitted on 22 Apr 2024
94 points (85.6% liked)

No Stupid Questions

33830 readers
656 users here now

No such thing. Ask away!

!nostupidquestions is a community dedicated to being helpful and answering each others' questions on various topics.

The rules for posting and commenting, besides the rules defined here for lemmy.world, are as follows:

Rules (interactive)


Rule 1- All posts must be legitimate questions. All post titles must include a question.

All posts must be legitimate questions, and all post titles must include a question. Questions that are joke or trolling questions, memes, song lyrics as title, etc. are not allowed here. See Rule 6 for all exceptions.



Rule 2- Your question subject cannot be illegal or NSFW material.

Your question subject cannot be illegal or NSFW material. You will be warned first, banned second.



Rule 3- Do not seek mental, medical and professional help here.

Do not seek mental, medical and professional help here. Breaking this rule will not get you or your post removed, but it will put you at risk, and possibly in danger.



Rule 4- No self promotion or upvote-farming of any kind.

That's it.



Rule 5- No baiting or sealioning or promoting an agenda.

Questions which, instead of being of an innocuous nature, are specifically intended (based on reports and in the opinion of our crack moderation team) to bait users into ideological wars on charged political topics will be removed and the authors warned - or banned - depending on severity.



Rule 6- Regarding META posts and joke questions.

Provided it is about the community itself, you may post non-question posts using the [META] tag on your post title.

On fridays, you are allowed to post meme and troll questions, on the condition that it's in text format only, and conforms with our other rules. These posts MUST include the [NSQ Friday] tag in their title.

If you post a serious question on friday and are looking only for legitimate answers, then please include the [Serious] tag on your post. Irrelevant replies will then be removed by moderators.



Rule 7- You can't intentionally annoy, mock, or harass other members.

If you intentionally annoy, mock, harass, or discriminate against any individual member, you will be removed.

Likewise, if you are a member, sympathiser or a resemblant of a movement that is known to largely hate, mock, discriminate against, and/or want to take lives of a group of people, and you were provably vocal about your hate, then you will be banned on sight.



Rule 8- All comments should try to stay relevant to their parent content.



Rule 9- Reposts from other platforms are not allowed.

Let everyone have their own content.



Rule 10- Majority of bots aren't allowed to participate here.



Credits

Our breathtaking icon was bestowed upon us by @Cevilia!

The greatest banner of all time: by @TheOneWithTheHair!

founded 11 months ago
MODERATORS