this post was submitted on 06 Jan 2024
150 points (94.1% liked)

vegetarian

188 readers
4 users here now

founded 2 years ago
MODERATORS
 
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[–] Pipoca 3 points 1 year ago* (last edited 1 year ago) (1 children)

Which ones still use wheat?

All the ones I've ever seen use a mix of gluten-free starches and flours - rice flour, corn flour, tapioca, sorghum, potato starch, etc.

Edit: googling around, its apparently actually a thing, but it's pretty rare.

It actually works in reverse: by making a dough and washing it, starch washes out and leaves gluten and the rest of the flour.

If you dry the wash water, you're left with wheat starch, which if you're careful enough can be gluten free. It can be added to a gluten free flour mix in the same way that you'd use corn starch and potato starch.